Click to enlargepadVictims of Communism Memorial Foundation Begins Work on Global Virtual  Museum;

Estonian-Canadians To Play Key Role In Project

For Immediate Release November 21, 2007
Contact: Karl Altau (tel. 301-908-2579);

Washington, D.C. - The Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation has retained Marcus Kolga of Liefa Communications, Toronto, Canada, to play a key role in the building of its Global Virtual Museum on Communism.

Kolga, an Estonian-Canadian, is the director of the award-winning documentary film, "Gulag 113." Designer Tarmo Saks and programmer Paul Saumets, both Estonian-Canadians, join Kolga on the development team.

Chairman Lee Edwards made the announcement at the Foundation's 9th annual Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom Awards ceremony at the Hungarian Embassy on November 15.

"We are delighted," said Edwards, "that we will be able to utilize the outstanding talent and imagination of Marcus Kolga and his firm as we build the Global Virtual Museum on Communism. We interviewed seven companies in the U.S., Canada and Sweden, and Liefa was our unanimous choice."

Edwards said the Foundation hoped to launch the Global Virtual Museum during the summer of 2008.

On June 12, 2007, the Foundation dedicated its Memorial in Washington, D.C to the more than 100 million victims of communism. It is now focusing on developing the interactive Global Virtual Museum on Communism, which will serve as an international portal to educate this generation and future generations about the history, philosophy, and legacy of communism.

The Memorial and the Global Virtual Museum have received major support from the Baltic-American community as well as the governments of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. JBANC Managing Director Karl Altau serves as a Director of the Foundation.

Photo caption: Marcus Kolga with Lee Edwards announcing the Global Virtual Museum on Communism at the Hungarian Embassy

Photo by Peter Alunans

More information:

Octobr 17, 2008 - President Bush Discusses the Visa Waiver Program
Office of the Press Secretary/ White House News

THE PRESIDENT: Thank you all. (Applause.) Please be seated, thank you. Welcome to the White House. I'm pleased to stand with the representatives of seven countries -- the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and South Korea -- that have met the requirements to be admitted to the United States Visa Waiver Program. Soon the citizens of these nations will be able to travel to the United States for business or tourism without a visa. I congratulate these close friends and allies on this achievement, and I thank you for joining us here.

I also thank Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and Secretary of the Homeland -- Department of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff for working hard to make sure this day has finally arrived. Appreciate other members of the administration here and members of the Diplomatic Corps.

The Joint Baltic American National Committee, Inc.
400 Hurley Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850-3121
tel. 301-340-1954
fax: 301-309-1406