Click to enlargepadJBANC Meets with Latvian Prime Minister Aigars Kalvitis

August 8, 2005

Seated, left to right: Erik Puskar (JBANC, representative of Estonian American National Council), Lya Karm, JBANC chair (representative of Estonian American National Council), Henry Gaidis (JBANC, representative of Lithuanian American Council).
Standing: Janis Gramatins (ALA Board of Directors), Ramunas Kondratas (JBANC, representative of Lithuanian American Council), Peteris Blumbergs (JBANC, representative of American Latvian Association), Prime Minister of Latvia Aigars Kalvitis, Dalia Grobovaite (JBANC), Elina Spule (JBANC), Ambassador of Latvia Maris Riekstins, Karl Altau (JBANC).
Photo by Raits Eglitis (ALA).

Octobr 17, 2008 - President Bush Discusses the Visa Waiver Program
Office of the Press Secretary/ White House News

THE PRESIDENT: Thank you all. (Applause.) Please be seated, thank you. Welcome to the White House. I'm pleased to stand with the representatives of seven countries -- the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and South Korea -- that have met the requirements to be admitted to the United States Visa Waiver Program. Soon the citizens of these nations will be able to travel to the United States for business or tourism without a visa. I congratulate these close friends and allies on this achievement, and I thank you for joining us here.

I also thank Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and Secretary of the Homeland -- Department of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff for working hard to make sure this day has finally arrived. Appreciate other members of the administration here and members of the Diplomatic Corps.

The Joint Baltic American National Committee, Inc.
400 Hurley Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850-3121
tel. 301-340-1954
fax: 301-309-1406