Ukrainian Americans Statement on Russian Agression Against Georgia

Monday, 11 August 2008

August 8, 2008 The Ukrainian Congress Committee of America (UCCA), the largest representative organization of the Ukrainian American community, condemns the recent infringement of Georgia’s territorial integrity and sovereignty by armed Russian troops in the South Ossettia region of Georgia. This assault across the internationally recognized Georgian border is a clear violation of worldwide norms and an affront to the peaceful Georgian nation. Past tensions between the two sides, which until recently have been handled in a diplomatic manner, have now risen to a Russian-imposed armed military conflict with untold devastation and loss of Georgian lives. As the Russian troop movement across the Georgian border escalates, the UCCA calls upon the world community to condemn the violence and encourages both sides to return to the negotiating table.

Unfortunately, such recent acts of Russian aggression have been paramount to increased tensions not just in South Ossettia, but also within Ukraine - in Crimea and specifically the port city of Sevastopil - where Russian claims to Ukrainian territory are also of vital concern. Since the latest NATO Summit in Bucharest in April 2008, whereby Ukraine and Georgia received a positive endorsement for future NATO membership, Russian acts of aggression - whether economic, political, or militaristic - have increasingly grown against the two aspirant NATO countries. The Russian government must heed to internationally recognized borders and preclude its aggressive actions against its neighboring countries. A democratic Russia that respects the territorial integrity of its neighbors, as well as domestically upholds the principles of equal human rights and freedoms of press and conscience for its citizens, will contribute to peace, stability and security in the world. The world must condemn the recent attacks against Georgia and prevent such hostility in the future.

On behalf of the UCCA Executive Board,

Michael Sawkiw, Jr., President

& Orest Baranyk, Chairman External Affairs

Octobr 17, 2008 - President Bush Discusses the Visa Waiver Program
Office of the Press Secretary/ White House News

THE PRESIDENT: Thank you all. (Applause.) Please be seated, thank you. Welcome to the White House. I'm pleased to stand with the representatives of seven countries -- the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and South Korea -- that have met the requirements to be admitted to the United States Visa Waiver Program. Soon the citizens of these nations will be able to travel to the United States for business or tourism without a visa. I congratulate these close friends and allies on this achievement, and I thank you for joining us here.

I also thank Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and Secretary of the Homeland -- Department of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff for working hard to make sure this day has finally arrived. Appreciate other members of the administration here and members of the Diplomatic Corps.

The Joint Baltic American National Committee, Inc.
400 Hurley Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850-3121
tel. 301-340-1954
fax: 301-309-1406