Click to enlargepadCEEC meets again with National Security Council to Discuss G-8 Summit

August 2, 2006

The Central and East European Coalition (CEEC) met with the National Security Council in a follow up meeting on August 2 to discuss the results of the G-8 Summit, recently held in St. Petersburg, Russia. Dr. J.D. Crouch, Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Advisor briefed the participants, which included other White House National Security directors, and representatives of many of the CEEC's 19 member organizations, including the Lithuanian American Council and JBANC.

Pictured are: Damon Wilson (Director for Central and Eastern Europe, NSC)
Gordon Hendrickson (Special Advisor for European Affairs to the Vice President)
Michael Sawkiw (Ukrainian Congress Committee of America)
John Karch (Slovak League of America)
Asta Banionis (Lithuanian American Community)
Frank Koszorus (American Hungarian Federation)
Tom Graham (Special Assistant to the the President and Senior Director for Russian Affairs, NSC)
Armand Scala (Congress of Romanian Americans)
Judy Ansley (Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for European Affairs, NSC)
Ramunas Kondratas (Lithuanian American Council and JBANC)
Juraj Slavik (Czechoslovak National Council of America)
Laszlo Pasztor (National Federation of American Hungarians)
Barry Jackson (Deputy Assistant to the President and Chief Deputy to the Senior Advisor)
Karl Altau (JBANC)
Radi Slavoff (Bulgarian Institute for Research and Analysis)
Barbara Borzuchowska (Polish American Congress)

Not pictured are:
Dr. J.D. Crouch, Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Advisor
Ellen King (Hungarian American Coalition)

*photo by Inga Lukaviciute (JBANC)

Octobr 17, 2008 - President Bush Discusses the Visa Waiver Program
Office of the Press Secretary/ White House News

THE PRESIDENT: Thank you all. (Applause.) Please be seated, thank you. Welcome to the White House. I'm pleased to stand with the representatives of seven countries -- the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and South Korea -- that have met the requirements to be admitted to the United States Visa Waiver Program. Soon the citizens of these nations will be able to travel to the United States for business or tourism without a visa. I congratulate these close friends and allies on this achievement, and I thank you for joining us here.

I also thank Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and Secretary of the Homeland -- Department of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff for working hard to make sure this day has finally arrived. Appreciate other members of the administration here and members of the Diplomatic Corps.

The Joint Baltic American National Committee, Inc.
400 Hurley Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850-3121
tel. 301-340-1954
fax: 301-309-1406