U.S. House Moves Closer to Passing Resolution Supporting Estonia

JBANC Press Release

May 24, 2007

Washington, DC (JBANC) --- The Joint Baltic American National Committee, Inc. (JBANC) representing principle national organizations of Americans of Estonian, Latvian, and Lithuanian heritage has released a Position Paper this week calling for the United States Congress to stay on course in supporting Estonia against aggressive behavior by the Russian Federation. The U.S. House of Representatives is currently considering legislation stating solidarity with Estonian and condemning Moscow's recent malevolent actions.

In its paper, JBANC urges support for H.Res. 397, introduced on May 10 by House Baltic Caucus co-chairman John Shimkus (R-IL) and supported by 33 Members as of May 23. Chicago Democrat Dan Lipinski's office notified JBANC on May 24 that Rep. Lipinski has also signed on as a co-sponsor.

The legislation was passed out of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs on Wednesday under the direction of its chairman Tom Lantos (D-CA). It is expected that a vote on the measure will occur following the upcoming Memorial Day recess. A Senate resolution (S. Res. 187) with similar language, introduced by Sen. George Voinovich (R-OH), passed on May 3.

The issue of the recent removal of the Bronze Soldier Soviet monument, and the historical context, is outlined in JBANC's paper.


Title: Condemning violence in Estonia and attacks on Estonia's embassies in 2007, and expressing solidarity with the Government and the people of Estonia. Sponsor: Rep Shimkus, John [IL-19] (introduced 5/10/2007) Cosponsors (33)

Rep Berman, Howard L. [CA-28] - 5/16/2007, Rep Bilirakis, Gus M. [FL-9] - 5/23/2007, Rep Blunt, Roy [MO-7] - 5/14/2007, Rep Bono, Mary [CA-45] - 5/10/2007, Rep Boozman, John [AR-3] - 5/21/2007, Rep Camp, Dave [MI-4] - 5/10/2007, Rep Costa, Jim [CA-20] - 5/10/2007, Rep Costello, Jerry F. [IL-12] - 5/10/2007, Rep Feeney, Tom [FL-24] - 5/10/2007, Rep Fortuno, Luis G. [PR] - 5/21/2007, Rep Gallegly, Elton [CA-24] - 5/10/2007, Rep Goodlatte, Bob [VA-6] - 5/17/2007, Rep Holden, Tim [PA-17] - 5/10/2007, Rep Inglis, Bob [SC-4] - 5/21/2007, Rep Kildee, Dale E. [MI-5] - 5/10/2007, Rep King, Steve [IA-5] - 5/10/2007, Rep Lantos, Tom [CA-12] - 5/21/2007, Rep Mack, Connie [FL-14] - 5/21/2007, Rep McCaul, Michael T. [TX-10] - 5/21/2007, Rep McCotter, Thaddeus G. [MI-11] - 5/10/2007, Rep Miller, Candice S. [MI-10] -5/10/2007, Rep Musgrave, Marilyn N. [CO-4] - 5/14/2007, Rep Neal, Richard E. [MA-2] - 5/10/2007, Rep Pascrell, Bill, Jr. [NJ-8] - 5/10/2007, Rep Pitts, Joseph R. [PA-16] - 5/10/2007, Rep Rogers, Mike J. [MI-8] - 5/10/2007, Rep Ros-Lehtinen, Ileana [FL-18] - 5/21/2007, Rep Shuster, Bill [PA-9] - 5/10/2007, Rep Smith, Christopher H. [NJ-4] - 5/10/2007, Rep Stupak, Bart [MI-1] - 5/10/2007, Rep Upton, Fred [MI-6] - 5/10/2007, Rep Watson, Diane E. [CA-33] - 5/21/2007, Rep Wexler, Robert [FL-19] - 5/21/2007

Octobr 17, 2008 - President Bush Discusses the Visa Waiver Program
Office of the Press Secretary/ White House News

THE PRESIDENT: Thank you all. (Applause.) Please be seated, thank you. Welcome to the White House. I'm pleased to stand with the representatives of seven countries -- the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and South Korea -- that have met the requirements to be admitted to the United States Visa Waiver Program. Soon the citizens of these nations will be able to travel to the United States for business or tourism without a visa. I congratulate these close friends and allies on this achievement, and I thank you for joining us here.

I also thank Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and Secretary of the Homeland -- Department of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff for working hard to make sure this day has finally arrived. Appreciate other members of the administration here and members of the Diplomatic Corps.

The Joint Baltic American National Committee, Inc.
400 Hurley Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850-3121
tel. 301-340-1954
fax: 301-309-1406