About Us

The Joint Baltic American National Committee, Inc.(JBANC) was founded in 1961 to support restoration of independence, human rights and democracy to the Baltic countries by uniting the efforts of the
Estonian American National Council, Inc., the American Latvian Association, Inc. and the Lithuanian American Council, Inc.

Today, JBANC has adapted to the changing needs of the Baltic peoples and the Baltic communities in the United States. JBANC acts in a dual capacity as the liaison of the Baltic communities with Capitol Hill and the White House as well as the information agent to the parent organizations.

  • The Board of Directors
  • JBANC Annual Report 2002-2003

  • Our Objectives

    The Joint Baltic American National Committee works towards the following goals:

  • to maintain U.S. involvement in the Baltic countries, both politically and economically;
  • to promote integration of the Baltic countries into western organizations and institutions, such as NATO;
  • to strengthen the voices of U.S. Baltic communities in Washington by working with the Central and East European Coalition on Capitol Hill and with the Administration.
  • to assist the Estonian, Latvian, and Lithuanian people in strengthening democracy and free market economies in their countries;
  • to help governmental and non-governmental organizations formulate policies and programs that relate to the Baltic countries by providing information, analysis, and guidance on issues of importance to the Baltic American communities in the U.S.;
  • to keep the Baltic American communities informed of U.S. government policies pertaining to Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania;
  • to work to increase awareness of the languages, histories and cultures of the Baltic peoples;
  • to assist and maintain ties with other public affairs and educational organizations.
  • to identify and promote opportunities and U.S. assistance available to the Estonian, latvian, and Lithuanian people in strengthening democracy and free market economies in their countries.

  • Octobr 17, 2008 - President Bush Discusses the Visa Waiver Program
    Office of the Press Secretary/ White House News

    THE PRESIDENT: Thank you all. (Applause.) Please be seated, thank you. Welcome to the White House. I'm pleased to stand with the representatives of seven countries -- the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and South Korea -- that have met the requirements to be admitted to the United States Visa Waiver Program. Soon the citizens of these nations will be able to travel to the United States for business or tourism without a visa. I congratulate these close friends and allies on this achievement, and I thank you for joining us here.

    I also thank Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and Secretary of the Homeland -- Department of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff for working hard to make sure this day has finally arrived. Appreciate other members of the administration here and members of the Diplomatic Corps.

    The Joint Baltic American National Committee, Inc.
    400 Hurley Avenue
    Rockville, MD 20850-3121
    tel. 301-340-1954
    fax: 301-309-1406