Estonian PM makes donation to Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation


WASHINGTON, Nov 30, BNS - Prime Minister Andrus Ansip on Thursday made a donation of 5,000 US dollars on behalf of Estonia to the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation in Washington.

"I'm pleased to deliver our donation as contribution on the part of Estonia to help solve the crimes of communism in the whole world and I hope that there will be many countries contributing to this undertaking," Ansip said during a ceremony at the Estonian embassy in Washington.

"The Estonian government was the first to decide to support financially the Global Virtual Museum of Victims of Communism and surely this has been conducive to other countries' joining this important project," Lee Edwards, chairman of the foundation, was quoted as saying in remarks published in Estonian.

Edwards said that the whole world and especially the younger generation, who have a weaker immediate knowledge of the Soviet Union and other criminal dictatorships, must be informed about the crimes of communist terror.

A Victims of Communism Memorial in Washington, a project of the foundation, was dedicated by President George W. Bush in a ceremony on June 12 this year.

The foundation's next mission will be to create a Global Virtual Museum of Victims of Communism.

The idea of creation of such an international museum came up at a meeting between presidents Toomas Hendrik Ilves and George W. Bush during the Estonian president's working visit to Washington in June this year.

The foundation is planning to launch the virtual museum during the next year.

The creators of the museum wish the museum not to remain just a symbol but also to serve as a venue for discussions and forums.

US President George W. Bush is honorary chairman of the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation.

Tallinn newsroom, +372 610 8863,

Octobr 17, 2008 - President Bush Discusses the Visa Waiver Program
Office of the Press Secretary/ White House News

THE PRESIDENT: Thank you all. (Applause.) Please be seated, thank you. Welcome to the White House. I'm pleased to stand with the representatives of seven countries -- the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and South Korea -- that have met the requirements to be admitted to the United States Visa Waiver Program. Soon the citizens of these nations will be able to travel to the United States for business or tourism without a visa. I congratulate these close friends and allies on this achievement, and I thank you for joining us here.

I also thank Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and Secretary of the Homeland -- Department of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff for working hard to make sure this day has finally arrived. Appreciate other members of the administration here and members of the Diplomatic Corps.

The Joint Baltic American National Committee, Inc.
400 Hurley Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850-3121
tel. 301-340-1954
fax: 301-309-1406